## **PREFACE**

The fifth European Particle Accelerator Conference, EPAC'96, took place at the Meliá Gran Sitges Hotel from Monday to Friday, 10 to 14 June 1996. It was organized by the Universitat Autonoma de Barcelona and was attended by 762 participants from 26 countries. As in previous conferences of the series a special effort was made to support the attendance of young and Eastern European scientists. With the partial sponsorship of the European Union, the participation of 28 young scientists was supported and the following laboratories and institutions helped the attendance of 41 East Europeans: BESSY, CCL, CEA-DSM, CEE-IRMM, CERN, DESY, ESRF, GSI, HMI, INFN-LNF, KFA, MSI and PSI. The travel expenses of the Russian delegates were covered by the Russian Academy of Sciences.

EPAC'96 was held under the auspices of the European Physical Society Interdivisional Group on Accelerators (EPS-IGA) and was supported by the following Spanish organizations: CICYT, CIRIT, CSIC, DGICYT, Universitat Autonoma de Barcelona, Universitat de Barcelona and Universitat Politecnica de Catalunya. Additional support was received from Caixa de Catalunya, Diputació de Barcelona, Oxford Instruments and Silicon Graphics. My thanks to all the conference sponsors.

The conference was opened by Joan Albaiges, Comissionat per a Universitats i Recerca of the Generalitat de Catalunya, Pere Junyent, Mayor of Sitges, Michel Olivier, Chairman of the EPAC'96 Organizing Committee, Santiago Lago, Subdirector General de Investigación of the Spanish Government, and Joan Uriach, President of the Social Council of the Universitat Autonoma de Barcelona. The opening lecture was given by Yves Petroff, General Director of the ESRF, and the closing lecture by Enrique Fernàndez, Director of the High Energy Physics Institute of Barcelona (IFAE).

The scientific programme spanned four and a half days, with parallel sessions on two mornings and poster sessions on four afternoons. There were 64 invited papers (including the special session for industry), 29 contributed oral presentations and 754 poster papers, of which 26 were selected for 5 minute oral presentations. Special sessions were devoted to third generation synchrotron radiation devices, linear collider test facilities, and accelerator systems. E.J.N. Wilson gave a special talk to commemorate '50 Years of Synchrotrons'. My thanks to all the authors for the high standard of their contributions and to the Poster Sessions Manager Francisco Calviño.

An industrial exhibition took place during the first three days of the conference. Thirty-two international companies presented their high technology products and services to the conference delegates in an excellent atmosphere conducive to discussions between companies and customers. My thanks to all the companies concerned and to the exhibition managers Joan Parellada and Matteo Cavalli-Sforza. As previously announced, the EPS-IGA Accelerator Prizes were awarded on the first day of the conference. The prize for a young physicist or engineer who has made a significant, original contribution to the accelerator field within the last six years was awarded to Professor J.S. Hangst from the University of Aarhus for his work on bunched beam laser cooling and diagnostics. The prize for an individual or group of individuals demonstrating achievement and innovation in the accelerator field since the commencement of EPAC in 1988, without age limit, was awarded to Professor R.D. Kohaupt and his collaborators from DESY, for work on the theory of multibunch longitudinal and transverse feedback systems, development of multibunch systems using digital techniques, its verification at various DESY machines, and its wide significance for future machines.

In parallel with the last day of the industrial exhibition and following the tradition of the EPAC conferences a special seminar for industry was organized under the chairmanship of Dewi Lewis. The conference also provided an ideal atmosphere for 15 small meetings of specialized groups. For the first time in the EPAC series it was decided to publish the conference proceedings both on paper and on CD-Rom. Thanks to the hard work of John Poole, Andreu Pacheco, Christine Petit-Jean-Genaz and other collaborators, all of the electronic files of contributions were successfully processed during the conference and all authors could be informed of the result. A special room with 12 computer terminals allowed participants to connect with their home institute's computers.

I would like to thank the members of the different committees who helped the success of the conference, from the members of the Organizing Committee, chaired by Michel Olivier, to the Programme Sub-Committee, chaired by Steve Myers, and the Local Organizing Committee. Thanks are due to the members of the Synchrotron Laboratory of Barcelona, and especially to the Conference Secretary Miriam Raventos. Finally I want to express my gratitude to our Executive Secretary Christine Petit-Jean-Genaz, whose help would make the life of any conference organizer easy; and finally to all the participants who contributed to the success of the conference.

Ramon Pascual Chairman of the EPAC'96 Local Organizing Committee